PDA

View Full Version : Prokennex 5g or Ki5 (which is more comfortable)

ccambil@gmail.com
06-11-2008, 09:56 AM
Hi all,

I haven't played tennis for over 5 months due to severe tennis elbow.

I have been playing tennis for over 20 years and never had tennis elbow.

I only developed tennis elbow when i changed rackets (from wood) to a wilson hammer profile 2.7, a very powerful racket. I really enjoyed playing with this racket because it is very powerful. I enjoyed knocking off my opponents rackets from their hands. I have a long, fast swing and this racket generated awesome power.

However, my arm paid the price for this power.

I then switched to a Wilson Hammer 6.2 which is less stiff. My tennis elbow got better but never went away.

I again switched to a Wilson NSix-one 95 (16x18). However, my tennis elbow got worse and painful that I have to stop playing tennis.

It is time to change racquet brand.

I read a lot about prokennex 5g and ki5 but i cannot decide which one to buy.

my primary objective is to completely heal my tennis elbow and continue playing a little recreational tennis (not competitive, just rallyies).

Question:
From a primarily tennis elbow point of view, which one should I buy? 5g or ki5?

Thanks in advance...

blackfrido
06-11-2008, 09:58 AM
5G, I had tennis elbow for about 6 months. I bought couple of 5G"s, when did not hurt anymore then I changed for another racquet.
I had a Ki5, did not like it.

The Dampener
06-11-2008, 10:55 AM
The 5G, in my opinion.

I struggled through TE for a year and a half and played both of those frames. Both frames play soft, but the 5G felt more flexible. Especially, when you string with soft multis at low tension.

Keep in mind, though, TE can be a result of any number of variables--equipment, technique, fitness, etc. Make sure you look at everything and not just your racquet.

SLow
06-11-2008, 11:52 AM
Exactly what The Dampener said.