PDA

View Full Version : 3/4 midcut tennis shoes:Are they still around ?

MAXXply
07-12-2008, 06:10 AM
Nike's new Air Zoom x-Trainer and some similarly lame offering from Prince. Are these the only midcut tennis shoes on the market right now ?
Should I be checking out basketball boots if I need extra ankle support ?

Deano
07-12-2008, 06:45 AM
The Barricade II's mids are still around.

Klatu Verata Necktie
07-12-2008, 10:38 AM
I suggest you try ASO Ankle Braces before buying basketball shoes. People that use the ASOs love them.

Like the above poster noted, the Barricade II mids may be an option, although the extra support may not be rigid enough to provide the support you seek.

The other option that is new to the market is the Nike Air Trainer reissue. Apparently, Nike has updated some key performance features that may make it a viable option for you.

GS
07-12-2008, 10:48 AM
I've been using various Nike 3/4 midcuts for 25 years now. They said their Air Resolve Mid from 2 years ago was probably their last one, but thankfully they recently came out with those Air Trainers again. If there's no Nike 3/4s around after I go through my new Trainers, yep, I'll probably be buying a pair of ASO braces and using low-cut Nikes.

lemons
07-12-2008, 11:39 AM
Here's the listing of all the mid top shoes available at TW.

http://www.tennis-warehouse.com/catthumbs.html?CREF=166

I like the look of the K-Swiss Ultrascendor mid.

FreshStew
07-12-2008, 12:32 PM
I've been using various Nike 3/4 midcuts for 25 years now. They said their Air Resolve Mid from 2 years ago was probably their last one, but thankfully they recently came out with those Air Trainers again. If there's no Nike 3/4s around after I go through my new Trainers, yep, I'll probably be buying a pair of ASO braces and using low-cut Nikes.

How do the Zoom Trainers hold up on hard court?????

FreshStew
07-12-2008, 12:33 PM