PDA

View Full Version : Comparing 16x20 to 18x20 string patterns.

tennisrick
07-25-2008, 05:53 PM
Hi, I am looking to buy a new tennis racquet and I want more power, and spin than my current racquet (K-Blade Tour which has an 18x20 string pattern). I am a 4.0 player with a semi-western forehand grip who hits the ball pretty flat but I would like to learn how to put more spin on it. I have demoed a Babolat Pure Storm Tour and like it a lot but am worried that the 16x20 string pattern will still be too dense. I am asking if one can still get enough bite off the string bed even if it is a 16x20 instead of a 16x19 or 16x18. Thanks!

levy1
07-25-2008, 06:07 PM
I have been hitting flat for 30 years. Never had much top spin even with a grip change. I have always hit with a 18X20 pattern. Just changed to a Head radical tour with 16x19. My new topspin is amazing. I cant believe the difference.

Murray_Maniac
07-25-2008, 06:09 PM
Yea 16x20 provides great spin. I use a diablo mid and it is 16x20 and it creates a lot of spin. I came from an 18x20 (k6.1 team) and the diablo mid allowed me to learn how to hit w/ more spin. I havent hit w/ that Babolat but it should be the same case.

JRW
07-25-2008, 06:20 PM
You also need to take string spacing into consideration. At one time I had both a Babolat Pure Control and Wilson HPS 5.0 both w/ 16x20 patterns. The Wilson hit with noticeably more spin than the Babolat due to the strings being spaced further apart.

In D Zone
07-25-2008, 10:03 PM
16 x18
16x19
16x 20

Main pattern is all consistent.(16). Variation of the cross offers more stablity and control.

As JRW pointed out the spacing of the cross pattern plays a big part l
Depending on the head size and the model of the racquet.

I have played with all string pattern and did not really noticed a big difference in the spin, except when you compare it to the 18x20.

matchmaker
07-25-2008, 10:32 PM