PDA

View Full Version : New racket with pop and topspin

MCN
07-29-2008, 05:46 AM
I've been using heavier frames for many years but am finding it harder to play with these as I get older. I currently use Yonex RDS002 Tour and quite like its heft but get tired with this and start to mis-time the ball. I tried a Yonex RDS003 and loved the whip I could get from mid-court - massive topspin and angles, but couldn't block well or volley with this - felt too light. But I did hit many more outright winners with this than my 002Tour, but also more errors on volleys. Is there something in between the 003 and 002Tour that would give me some pop and topspin and be easy to swing but with that stability that I'm after? Is it worth demoing the Dunlop 500G Tour or the Head Microgel Extreme? I've also tried the Prince O3Tour but found this a bit 'mushy'. I play with a lot of top, 1HBH, am quite consistent from all areas of court and mixture of singles & doubles.

coolblue123
07-29-2008, 05:52 AM
Hi MCN:
Maybe the RDS001 Mid+ seems like a good combo from your description. I havne't played with the 002 but having playtested the RDS001 +, i can say the RDS003 (my current racquet) has more power than the 001. Also, 001 has more touch and feel. (probably cuz of the smaller head size and a tad shorter (.25 in.) )

I was going to say try the RQis 1 but I felt the RQis1 has more of a muted feel and about the same power level as the 002.

Good luck and tell us what you decided on.

counterpuncher
07-29-2008, 04:30 PM
This sounds like exactly the path I am on. I played with the RDS001mp, then the RQiS1, then the RDS002 Tour SL and now RDS002 tour UL with 6 grams of lead tape at 3 and 9 which is an okay compromise. I too found the RDS003 too light and unstable. I also tried the O3 tour and found it too mushy with no gain in power.