PDA

View Full Version : 4 racquet playtest

IT WAS IN!!! #2
07-30-2008, 12:00 AM
Well, let me start by saying it is good to be back on the boards. I lost my account information on my original forum name. But, it is good to be back after a long break.
I am a sophomore who plays for his high school team and when i get the rare chance state level tournaments. I have an all-court game with a powerful serve-forehand combination, and a nice kick second serve.
I recently decided that i need to change to a slightly more forgiving, larger framed, lighter racquet.
I am playtesting the Prince Ozone Pro Tour, Yonex RDS 002 Tour, Yonex RQis Tour 1, and the Head Microgel Radical Pro.
Before playing, I thought that the power from the Head would be overwhelming, the RQis would be too weak, the Prince's head too big, and the 002 Tour just right. well of course non of this was the case (other than the RQis)
Serve: the power and "plow-through" feel of the Head won over my heart when hitting first serves. In that case it was the best first serve racquet I have ever used. But on second serve I hit way too many deep. I moved into the 002 Tour and everything was just off. I couldn't consistently place the ball on the T or put it in the corner. It was the biggest disappointment in that category. Then I tried the RQis. Let me say that I don't think that the tennis-warehouse review gave it justice. This racquet without a doubt won this category. Except for lacking in power, I could place the ball anywhere I wanted to, and hit a high-bouncing, effective kick serve. Finally, I used the Prince. The lack of words don't mean I didn't dislike this racquet in this category but there was nothing terribly spectacular I'd say it came in 3rd on first serve and 2nd on second serve.
More to report tomorrow when my hitting partner (ball-machine) isn't broken. knock on wood:?

IT WAS IN!!! #2
07-30-2008, 12:02 AM
sorry I was using a POG mid with a hybrid of Ace 18/X1 Biphase 17 at 59/57

mawashi