PDA

View Full Version : Gamma T-7. Any One Try it Yet?

ccelis
07-30-2008, 07:18 AM
How was it, is it really light and powerfull? How does it compare to the Gamma G325?

Thanks

ccelis
08-16-2008, 01:51 PM
How was it, is it really light and powerfull? How does it compare to the Gamma G325?

Thanks

Bump..........

ramseszerg
08-16-2008, 02:56 PM
I second this question. Would also appreciate comments on arm-friendliness.

sstchur
08-22-2008, 12:01 PM
I had a chance to try out this racket and I really like it a lot. So much so that I'm making the switch.

I'm a former high school player who is getting back into the game after about 10 years. I'm 29 years old and my arm is not what it used to be, so when I started playing again (2 to 4 times per week), I experienced some pretty severe elbow/shoulder pain.

Back in the day, I used a Wilson Prostaff 6.1 Classic. This time around, I tried out the KSix-One Tour 90, as it seemed similar. I really liked it and rushed into the purchase -- big mistake. While it is super solid and lets you just hit the crap out of the ball, the weight and stiffness weren't making my arm happy.

I decided to try something with a larger head size and which was lighter, and the Gamma T-7 fit the bill (at least enough to give it a demo).

I really loved the feeling of the racket from the baseline. Groundstrokes felt really nice -- like the ball was being pocketed by the string bed. It definitely gave me more power and a larger sweet spot than the K90 (which, I discovered 10 years later, I now need).

I was able to generate significant spin with the open string pattern -- I could both feel the spin and see it (I noticed plenty of string movement between points). The racket is headlight and has a flexible frame, so it doesn't have a /ton/ of power, but it has enough. I felt that it offered me a really good compromise of power (was able to get good depth on groundstrokes) and topspin (could clear the net by 2 to 3 feet and still keep the ball in).