PDA

View Full Version : Awesome, got my first shoulder injury today

ogruskie
08-02-2008, 07:07 PM
I was playing for about an hour, and right after a I made a backhand slice, my right (upper) shoulder got stabbed with a sharp pain. Being an idiot, I decided to keep playing despite the pain. Everytime I hit a forehand, my shoulder would hurt like hell. After about 10 minutes the pain went away and I continued to play as if nothing happened.

So...what exactly happened? I've been playing for about 5 years and the only tennis related injuries I had were twisted ankles because of careless running over balls.

Rickson
08-03-2008, 12:02 AM
Seems like you strained a muscle. Shoulder injuries are common among big servers and players with 1hbh. Put some ice on that shoulder and give it some rest.

PROTENNIS63
08-03-2008, 07:33 AM
ice for the first 48-72 hours. If pain continues, I would put some heat after 3 days. Ultrasound is great.

Sentinel
08-03-2008, 07:49 AM
So the pain went away, correct.
Was it a mishit. I sometimes get a stab of pain , if i am serving and i shank/mishit. Goes away....

Check the threads on shoulder injuries, and rotator cuff.

ogruskie
08-03-2008, 10:55 AM
Seems like you strained a muscle. Shoulder injuries are common among big servers and players with 1hbh. Put some ice on that shoulder and give it some rest.

ice for the first 48-72 hours. If pain continues, I would put some heat after 3 days. Ultrasound is great.

Cool, thanks for the help.

So the pain went away, correct.
Was it a mishit. I sometimes get a stab of pain , if i am serving and i shank/mishit. Goes away....

Check the threads on shoulder injuries, and rotator cuff.

It wasn't a mishit. I felt the ball hit the sweetspot of my racquet.

I just don't understand WHY this had to happen. I've been playing for roughly 5 years, I lift weights and have never received any injuries whatsoever. Its like my body decided to give me pain just for the hell of it.

Rickson
08-03-2008, 11:40 AM