PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety / Panic Attacks - Need Better Diet?

Postsosne
08-19-2008, 08:09 AM
I'm a 27yr old male 5'8 150lbs. I started playing tennis regularly (taking lessons) in january and now am playing 3-5hrs a week. Recently (the past two weeks) i've been experiencing symptons consistent with hypoglycemia / panic attacks / anxiety / increased heart rate / dizziness while on court. I feel faint but never actually faint. I usually can continue to play.
My coach says I need to get in better shape/ eat better. I'd like any suggestions anyone could give me as far as a specific dietery regiment or nutrional supplements i should buy or any other advice i could so that i continue playing without these attacks. thanks! i really need to fix this!:confused:

WildVolley
08-19-2008, 08:47 AM
Is this a panic attack or a physical condition?

I'd go see a doctor and if you come up clean, then see a psychiatrist.

At the very least, if you are feeling faint you should sit down and get some water. It would be pretty uncomfortable to pass out and face plant on a tennis court.

Something to try in your diet would be to cut back on simple carbs and sugary things. For example, eat fruit rather than drink fruit juice. The fiber in the fruit will give you less of an insulin spike and crash. Cutting back on simple carbs means less potatoes, white rice, bread, etc. Only eat whole grains.

Postsosne
08-19-2008, 09:16 AM
I believe it may be a combination of both. It only happens after I play for ahwile. I might be psyching myself out but i'd like to build my confidence or whatever by eating better.

mrw
08-19-2008, 09:49 AM
Something to try in your diet would be to cut back on simple carbs and sugary things. For example, eat fruit rather than drink fruit juice. The fiber in the fruit will give you less of an insulin spike and crash. Cutting back on simple carbs means less potatoes, white rice, bread, etc. Only eat whole grains.

This is good advice.

Spokewench