PDA

View Full Version : Bad Muscle Tear

jchamilt
08-30-2008, 03:13 PM
On August 10 in the State USTA 4.5 Senior finals. I served and came to the net and when I stopped I heard a snap in my left calf at which point I could not walk. I left in a wheel chair and went to the ER and got a tentative diagnosis of a ruptured Achilles tendon, which I didn't think was correct since my tendon felt whole in the common place for a rupture and all the pain was in my calf. I left the ER on crutches and got an appointment the next day at a sport's medicine clinic. They were not sure whether it was a rupture of the Achilles or a bad muscle tear. The ultrasound found a bad tear of the medial head of my gastrocnemeus (calf muscle). This type of injury is written up as "Tennis Leg" and I have a bad case of it. The prognosis was maybe 6 to 8 weeks before I went back to tennis.

I have been playing tennis for 58 years and competitive tennis for 50 years. This is the worse injury by far I have ever had yet I have been ranked in every section I played and currently hold a national ranking.

I am doing PT 3 X a week and there is still edema in my lower leg, but I have progressed from a wheel chair, crutches, soft cast and now I can almost walk without a limp.

Any thoughts on how to reduce the edema still present nearly 3 weeks after the injury. I see the doctor again next week.

Say Chi Sin Lo
08-30-2008, 03:49 PM
Keep icing it, that's really the only way. The****utic massage can help too.

If you've got the money and you can find a place that sell them, use some Kinesio Tape. Apparently, they lift the skin up to improve lymph drainage. If they're right, it'll really help with healing by flushing out pro-inflammatory proteins.

As long as there is inflammation, it wont heal. By the way, if you found a place that sells Kinesio Tape for a decent price, let me know!

ElectricTennis
08-30-2008, 04:20 PM