PDA

View Full Version : How do you Reformat a computer?


2nd_Serve
09-06-2008, 09:29 PM
Could anyone tell me please? I bought a new laptop and it was apparently used. Came with a bunch of stuff.

thehustler
09-06-2008, 09:33 PM
Do you have a Win2k/XP/Vista CD? You should just be able to pop that in, reboot and the rest should take care of itself. Just make sure it boots from the cd and follow the steps to wiping the drive and reinstalling windows.

YULitle
09-06-2008, 09:34 PM
open up DOS, type "FORMAT C:" ;)


Seriously, don't do that. Take it somewhere or find someone who can walk you through it. Once you start, any road blocks will be tough to get by if you need a computer to ask us about it.

superstition
09-06-2008, 09:47 PM
It depends upon the computer. Generally, you need to boot from an operating system installation disc.