PDA

View Full Version : Undo knots


DizBoiDanny
09-10-2008, 02:42 PM
Has anyone ever undo a knot? I did one time but that was luck. How can you undo a knot if its already tensioned? I messed up my friends racket by missing one of the mains and then i want to redo it. Is there any way you can undo the knots?

Zach
09-10-2008, 02:50 PM
It's not really recommended. And if you've already trimmed the tail on the knot it's probably going to be kind of hard if you can even get it undone.

YULitle
09-10-2008, 02:56 PM
It's not really recommended. And if you've already trimmed the tail on the knot it's probably going to be kind of hard if you can even get it undone.

+ If you do get it undone, you've stressed that portion of the string so much that it MIGHT not withstand tensioning.

DizBoiDanny
09-10-2008, 03:00 PM
No, i never trim the strings. I have alway wait until i have string it 100%.

Eric4
09-10-2008, 03:07 PM
its worth a try undoing the not. just grab your needle nose pliers and push on the tail of the not. the first half of the knot will be easy, but the 2nd is tough, make sure you have the main clamped off too.

Zach
09-10-2008, 05:07 PM
:+ If you do get it undone, you've stressed that portion of the string so much that it MIGHT not withstand tensioning.

Yeah. . . I know from previous experiences. :)

DizBoiDanny
09-10-2008, 05:55 PM
Hopefully i don't mess up tomrrow when i string my lm radical with x-ones.

dancraig
09-10-2008, 06:12 PM
I have found it easy to untie a knot, even under tension. I put the awl in there and slowly loosen the loops.

DizBoiDanny
09-11-2008, 01:15 PM
Oh, thanks for the advises guys.