PDA

View Full Version : UCONNs tennis team - questions

johnval1362
09-13-2008, 02:18 PM
Im currently a sophomore at central connecticut state university and plan on transfering to uconn next year. Walk ons are allowed at junior levels right? and anyone know how good uconns team is? is it d1?

andfor
09-13-2008, 04:11 PM
Looking at Tennis Recruiting.com none of their current players ever rated higher than 3 stars in highschool. It's not a bad way to compare for yourself to see if you think you might fit in. They rated from zero to 3 stars. It's not a perfect system but its a good one IMO. Lots of college coaches like it.

http://www.tennisrecruiting.net/

Go for it and good luck.

tennisnj
09-13-2008, 06:12 PM
I played at UConn in the mid to late 1990s when the team was the worst team in the Big East AND quite possibly the worst in D1. It has since improved slightly. We would lose to D2, D3 & JuCo teams regularly 9-0 (including CCSU). Their facilities were worse than most HS teams---no lights or on campus indoor facility (40 minutes away), but that might have changed in the past few years (I haven't visited in 2 years). I walked on my freshman year & managed to play 4 years w/o a scholarship if for no other reason than the head coach (Glenn Marshall) is a horse's BEEP & wouldn't know talent if it hit him in the head. Not to mention it is VERY difficult to coach both a men's & women's tennis team at the same time at the D1 level.
Rethink your decision to play for UConn UNLESS you're making the move for academic reasons. I went to UConn for academics & when I stumbled upon practice one day & realized I was better than everyone on the team save a player or 2, I went out for the team & made it.

johnval1362
09-14-2008, 05:54 AM