PDA

View Full Version : ** Natural Gut and Care **

anirut
09-29-2008, 09:44 AM
Yep, I'm very new to gut. And I haven't found answers to taking care of gut. (Well, there may be, but I'm not a good searcher.)

What post-playing care do I need to take to keep my gut in good playing conditions?

I've heard things like cleaning the gut with dry cloth and waxing or putting oil on the gut. What kind of oil? Are there any other special care that I need to take? Any special substance/material?

Thanks for all replies.

rasajadad
09-29-2008, 09:50 AM
Anirut,
If you play on soft courts you'll need to wipe off the clay dust after you play. The best stuff to put on the strings is pure grade B lanolin. I got a tub of it at a pharmacy and the tub will last a lifetime. (Other people have used baby oil and other stuff, but I haven't tried it.) You may also want string-savers. I personally don't like the change to the feel of the string bed, but some people do. Also in the Redondo mid there isn't much sawing action due to the dense string pattern.

jim e
09-29-2008, 09:55 AM
For the stringer there is precautions on handeling properly, otherwise, there is not much to do other than not getting it soaking wet.I don't use string savers, although a lot of folks here do, and I don't wax or oil them,(it seems to me that oil will attract more dirt, but that is just my thoughts), just use them, and they last me a good long time, but I never was much of a string breaker, as I hit a realtively flat hit, but a strong baseline hitter.