PDA

View Full Version : Bad String Job !!

Tombhoneb
10-10-2008, 05:14 AM
I checked the knot locations on my friends racket before i cut them out and then i noticed this .....

http://i37.tinypic.com/2qaifdd.jpg

http://i36.tinypic.com/2v0mvlf.jpg

Is there any reason a stringer would do this ?

stringwalla
10-10-2008, 05:20 AM
It's a "starting knot". Hard to tell the location on the frame from your picture.

The location of this and the other knots would tell the whole story-

Irvin
10-10-2008, 05:32 AM
I am not sure where the knots are but judging from the fact they are two different knots only one could be a starting knot. Looks like one is a bulkier knot so it could have been a starting knot. But neither is knotted around a string.

Reason for doing this? Not sure, but it looks someone trying something new or someone new trying something. In the top picture it looks like there is also a bad nick in a string.

Irvin

Tombhoneb
10-10-2008, 05:44 AM
ok, sorry ... i am new to stringing and i only got taught that a knot is tied round a string. It looked a bit dodgy to me as 2 of the knots are round a string and 2 of them are not, with one knot embedded in the grommet. I thought there must be some reason for doing this ... i will upload a pic of the whole frame with knot locations when my phone (cam) is done charging.

Cheers

Here we go ...

http://i38.tinypic.com/2b5jx5.jpg

princemidplus
10-10-2008, 05:51 AM
those knots look highly suspicious to me. not a pro stringer but they do not look like they are tied around the cross or mains string. They look more like the knot was tied in the end of the string and then the tension in the string allowed to pull the knot to wedge itself in the grommet.

As far as I am aware, you are supposed to tied the knot around the string as an anchor. A starting knot is large but it is still tied around a string.

Irvin
10-10-2008, 05:52 AM