PDA

View Full Version : Spinny Strings + Left Handed = Nadal's Success

misterchris
10-30-2008, 10:45 AM
Of all the top players, I like watching Nadal the least. He seems to demonstrate less skill and variety than the other players. I am by no means an expert on tennis, but it seems that Nadal's skill is a result of being left handed and having access to new racquet/string technology.

His lefty crosscourt forehand is up against most players backhands. His playstyle is to constantly launch high probababilty, uber-topspin (hard to return) shots. He doesn't go for many winners and rather than rely upon shot placement to construct points, seems to rely upon his opponents making errors based upon difficulty returning his heavy balls.

Because of the spin, his matches have fewer flat balls, generally lower speed enabling him to retrieve most shots. His serve is average.

My feeling is that Nadal's game would not work as well if he were a right hander. The combination of new technology, left handedness, and trend towards slower surfaces is contributing to his success.

Is this the future of pro tennis? I would rather the game reward big serves than the anomoly of being left handed.

matchmaker
10-30-2008, 10:51 AM
Get a life.

Mc Enroe was only number one because he was a lefthander who dinked balls all over the court.
Sampras was number one because he had a good serve.
All Agassi could do was bash balls from the baseline.
Federer would not even be top 20 without his forehand.

Yeah, I know a lot of these worthless hypotheses. Just accept it, Nadal has earned respect, just like any of the aforementioned players. He is not a retriever but he actually tries to dominate each point. He had an incredible year and should be appreciated for that. Results say more than the sore words of a talktennis poster in this.

misterchris
10-30-2008, 10:53 AM