PDA

View Full Version : College Tennis after graduating?

pandal3oy
12-11-2008, 01:46 PM
well i was thinking about going back to school. maybe to get a masters or even just another bachelor's degree in something i like more. i heard someone mention a rule like 4 yrs of tennis eligibility in 5 yrs of full time school. does that mean my chances are already gone since i graduated? i would love to play for a D3 school if any. im a 4.0 player so i know im not the best of the crop but like i said it doesnt really matter where i go. i want to kind of relax from work and goto school and play with a team. anyone know the rules? thanks!

Nanshiki
12-11-2008, 01:53 PM
It's not really fair to people to never played sports in college, but yes, NCAA rules say you're not eligible.

pandal3oy
12-11-2008, 10:38 PM
that sucks. are there loop holes around that? they can take my degree back! i dont really like it anyways. i dont mind going through another 4 years LOL.

goober
12-12-2008, 05:35 AM
It's not really fair to people to never played sports in college, but yes, NCAA rules say you're not eligible.

Are you sure about that? I think that only applies to D1 schools. There was player last spring that played on a local D2 team and she was 60 years old. Tennis magazine ran a story recently about 2 women who were in their 40s playing on a D3 team.

I definitely know he can play NAIA.

10isDad
12-12-2008, 05:42 AM
Are you sure about that? I think that only applies to D1 schools. There was player last spring that played on a local D2 team and she was 60 years old. Tennis magazine ran a story recently about 2 women who were in their 40s playing on a D3 team.

I definitely know he can play NAIA.

I think the difference is Sheila never graduated previously. The OP already obtained an undergraduate degree.

Additionally, there are different eligibility regulations for the different divisions. Note the following (Full article: http://www.ncaa.org/wps/ncaa?ContentID=10759):