PDA

View Full Version : Poaching

ten10
12-21-2008, 09:45 AM
Is it best if when a person poaches for that person to continue in that direction across the court and their partner to cut in behind them to cover the other side?

I am primarily a singles player, but have been playing more doubles. To me, it makes sense to do the above. Still because I primarily play singles in USTA (one doubles match last season) I don't want to be the one directing or choreographying play on the court. I'm a 4.5 but so are my teammates, who are the doubles "experts".

Either way, though, I feel like I should know what they are going to do because I usually serve and volley--but can't really do that if one second they are in the middle and the next.....who knows.

sphinx780
12-21-2008, 10:11 AM
I play mostly 4.5 and the occasional 5.0 dubs but still would never say I'm an expert. In most cases when poaching, the net man is expected to finish and cross for the best court coverage. That enables you to continue to serve and volley to the opposite side and gain position at net over your opponents.

One question I have, is the net player signalling poach or stay before the point starts? If so, then I would say the above holds true. If there is no signal and the net person is just being aggressive at going for a weak return over the middle, then it would be best to talk with your partner and make a decision on which way he goes once he makes that move so you can cover the open court. Deciding this will also determine where should direct a put away over the middle to keep the net effectively closed off to your opponents.

From my experience, the best dubs teams are the ones who are consistent in all their actions so they know where/when their partner will be in the court and they can play the percentages.

JavierLW
12-21-2008, 10:17 AM