PDA

View Full Version : Acoustic Guitar or Electric Guitar??

vmosrafa08
12-23-2008, 04:34 PM
I'm a beginner and I'm about to buy a guitar...I don't know whether to get a acoustic guitar or a electric guitar.
There are many aspects to consider. I'm a beginner, so which would be better? I will travel with it, so which is easier to carry (bulk/weight)?
Noise isn't a big problem, but which guitar is more fun to play? This is a guitar that I'm considering... http://www.fender.com/products//search.php?partno=0961006021

S H O W S T O P P E R !
12-23-2008, 04:39 PM
Buy an accoustic guitar. It's better for learning guitar.

vmosrafa08
12-23-2008, 04:51 PM
Electric guitars are more expensive... so I guess a acoustic guitar would be better, but which brand?? I'm looking at Fender, but there are so many models that I don't know which one to get. Can anyone help?

baek57
12-23-2008, 05:21 PM
my thoughts: its easier to travel with an acoustic as you don't need to carry an amp around. as far as which is more fun to play id say that depends on what kind of music you'd like to play. also, i found it easier to learn on an electric because the strings are much easier to press and if it wont sound as bad when you mess up because of distortion.

LuckyR
12-23-2008, 05:45 PM
What genre of music are you into? I would not get a guitar to "learn" with. I would get a guitar that is consistant with the music I like, then learn to play it.

max
12-23-2008, 06:30 PM
Acoustics make such a more nice sound, too! There are a good many low-priced but good-sounding acoustic options out there.

In my meek experience, it's better to move to an electric after you've learned on an acoustic. Develop fewer bad habits.

vmosrafa08
12-23-2008, 07:13 PM
i'm into classic rock... i'm probably going to get an acoustic, but now i have a couple of questions. Should I get a fender? And if I want to learn how to play it by myself, what is the best tape/ course (i'll get a teacher later)?

BigBUBBA