PDA

View Full Version : I got an electric guitar for X-mas but...

TokyopunK
12-25-2008, 12:10 PM
I have no clue where to start.

Is there any good Talk Guitar forums for beginners?

Or web-site tutorial guides.

I found some on youtube but they were either very very basic or very very complicated....

Any suggestions would be great.

Merry Christmas!

veritech
12-25-2008, 12:20 PM
there's information about tabs and such all over the internet if you want to play a couple particular songs.

but if you really want to learn how to play i suggest having someone teach you in person. guitars have a tough learning curve, imo.

Storm_Kyori
12-25-2008, 12:28 PM
post some pics....just a suggestion. I also got one, but have yet to try and learn how to play it.

caesar66
12-25-2008, 04:11 PM
wholenote.com . It hasn't been updated in years but there are TONS of lessons that helped me 8 years ago when I started playing.

Z-Man
12-25-2008, 04:21 PM
The harmonycentral.com chat board is the music equiv of TW. To get started, all you need is a tuner and some tabs. Don't neglect to stretch and tune your strings, or you'll never learn how to play because you won't be able to hear what you're doing. Keep it simple. Simple playing that's in tune and in time is all you need--even if you're in a gigging band.

stormholloway
12-25-2008, 05:31 PM
Learn a few chords. Try to train yourself to move easily between these chords without stalling. It's a matter of muscle memory.

Another thing I notice with beginners is they have trouble keeping their picking arm/hand loose and end up with funky strum patterns.

LuckyR
12-25-2008, 05:53 PM
I would consider going to a pawn shop and looking for an old, small (tube) amp at a bargain. Something like a Champ.

TokyopunK
12-25-2008, 06:13 PM
Thanks guys.

Any tips on how to not hit more than one string?

I looked at "How to hold a Pick" on youtube.... but I keep hitting like two strings at once with my jumbo hands! ARGHGHG

ichibanosaru