PDA

View Full Version : what's the kick server and how to do it?

yoshiki
01-05-2009, 06:46 PM
always hear you guys talk about it but have no idea about it

and can somebody just give me some advice on how to do it?

thanks! :)

JustBeginning
01-05-2009, 10:23 PM
Pretty sure its when your serve bounces up nice and high due to the topspin you put on it. I'm not very good at it but I guess you're suppose to toss the ball above your head so you can come up over the ball giving it some spin.

pmacino
01-05-2009, 10:53 PM
Click Here for Good Explanation & Videos (http://www.fuzzyyellowballs.com/videos/index.php/list/991/Fundamentals)

yoshiki
01-05-2009, 11:03 PM
Pretty sure its when your serve bounces up nice and high due to the topspin you put on it. I'm not very good at it but I guess you're suppose to toss the ball above your head so you can come up over the ball giving it some spin.

thanks

that means kick serve = topspin serve(maybe add some slice in it), right?

GeorgeLucas
01-05-2009, 11:18 PM
A kick server is one who partakes in the execution of a kick serve

You can find them in places around town - make sure they are a kick server though; you don't want to mingle with their uncouth kin: the twist server

SystemicAnomaly
01-06-2009, 01:25 AM
^ Very amusing, GL.

thanks

that means kick serve = topspin serve(maybe add some slice in it), right?

Not everyone uses the term, kick serve, in exactly the same manner. One version of the kick serve, the topspin kick serve, is a serve with a heavy topspin component. This serve might have a bit of sidespin and spiral spin as well. Another version of the kick is the twist serve. This one will usually have a little more slice and will have a very strong spiral spin component to make it kick in the opposite direction.

certifiedjatt
01-06-2009, 07:42 AM
A kick server is one who partakes* in the execution of a kick serve