PDA

View Full Version : Just strung up some M2 with Hollowcore

meowmix
01-08-2009, 01:48 PM
Just finished stringing up a batch. M2 in the mains at 54 pounds, Hollowcore in the crosses at 58.

This is my first time stringing poly. Even in the mains, it's a hassle. I couldn't figure out how to actually lower the dropweight for about 15 minutes...

At the moment, it feels very stiff. I'll be playing with it tomorrow, so more about it then.

A bit about me:

I'm a 175 pound, 5'8 16 year old. I played JV tennis last season, and will probably move up to varsity this year. NTRP wise, I'm most likely a 3.5. I'm an all courter, and enjoy messing with my opponent's minds. This is the first time I'll be playing with a poly. That being said, I think that people like me are Luxilon's target market for the M2, being as how it's supposed to be a "softer" poly.

Corsair
01-08-2009, 02:17 PM
Sweet! Can't wait for the playtesting review!

Max Winther
01-08-2009, 04:34 PM
Its like the ultimate free hybrid! Oh and try using a little more slack before you drop the weight when stringing polys. You'll get a feel for it after you do it right a few times.

meowmix
01-08-2009, 05:32 PM
I finished the job about four hours ago, and the stringbed seems a lot less stiff now. I'm not sure if this is due to tension loss or not. If it is, then the tension must have dropped by quite a few pounds, since (just hitting the racket against my palm) I notice that the stringbed is a lot more responsive.

cujays
01-08-2009, 07:00 PM
this is an interesting combo
tell me how it plays

Blade0324
01-08-2009, 07:14 PM
I'll be curious to see what you think of it. I'm just getting ready to post about a full set of M2 I strung up and tried today. I think it's a nice string.

meowmix
01-08-2009, 07:17 PM
I think that it'll feel pretty nice. I've never used poly before, so I'm expecting great things :)

lpicken
01-08-2009, 10:57 PM
Hollowcore = Hollow[k]rap

vndesu
01-08-2009, 11:26 PM
Hollowcore = Hollow[k]rap