PDA

View Full Version : Computer Question


Puma
01-12-2009, 05:05 AM
My computer has been going on the blink for sometime now. Whilst using it, it will freeze up. You either have to turn off the power or you have to control, alt, delete. Control, alt, delete doesn't always work. ie sometimes it stays frozen. When restarting, it almost always goes to a screen that says, "Disc error press control, alt, delete. This process will repeat until, 1) it boots up and give you the option of starting in safe mode or regular windows. 2) It wont boot up and you have to wait.

It seems that it will boot up first time ok. but after it freezes your have to fight with it to get it going.

Well, this weekend it worked fine the whole time. Then if froze. Never would reboot. I found some diagnostic program by PC Doctor. I ran that and it tested the entire system. Every thing checked out ok. This program says its a software problem.

My options seem to be to take it to the shop. Or, buy a new windows Vista program and install it.

What do yo guys thing. Help??????????Please????????

Sentinel
01-12-2009, 05:07 AM
Microsoft is the problem. Apple is the answer

Sorry, buddy -- could not resist. Hope u get some serious answers.

origmarm
01-12-2009, 05:08 AM
Have you got the original CDs that came with your computer?

If you have, you can usually restore it to the "out of the box" state with limited difficulty.

If you haven't then normally when you bought your computer you got a key for Windows XP or similar, either on a sticker on your machine or on a book that came with the computer. If you have either of these you can install Windows XP from scratch again and use this key.

Are either of these options for you?

If you can of course remember to transfer any documents/music etc...to a hard drive or a CD beforehand as the above processes will essentially wipe any data you have.

Orig

Puma
01-12-2009, 05:09 AM
Oh, the computer is a HP running windows Vista. 3 gig memory and 3 gig dual processor

rjkardo
01-12-2009, 05:11 AM
My computer has been going on the blink for sometime now. Whilst using it, it will freeze up. You either have to turn off the power or you have to control, alt, delete. Control, alt, delete doesn't always work. ie sometimes it stays frozen. When restarting, it almost always goes to a screen that says, "Disc error press control, alt, delete. This process will repeat until, 1) it boots up and give you the option of starting in safe mode or regular windows. 2) It wont boot up and you have to wait.

It seems that it will boot up first time ok. but after it freezes your have to fight with it to get it going.

Well, this weekend it worked fine the whole time. Then if froze. Never would reboot. I found some diagnostic program by PC Doctor. I ran that and it tested the entire system. Every thing checked out ok. This program says its a software problem.

My options seem to be to take it to the shop. Or, buy a new windows Vista program and install it.

What do yo guys thing. Help??????????Please????????

Have you run a disk defrag and a scandisk on it?
Sounds like it could be a hard-drive problem.

What new programs have you added?
Can you do a rollback?

Information is needed...

Rod

Puma
01-12-2009, 05:13 AM
I did the backup program but had problems with disc number 4. For some reason it wouldn't finish writing I guess. Maybe it did but I got a pop up saying File backup stopped.

Other than that the computer did not come with a Vista disc or back up software. I think now they want you to make you own back up disc.

On the hard drive one partition is a factory file thingy. It has HPs name on it. Dont' know what that is.

Ok Ok I know I am computer stupid. If I wastn't I guess I wouldn't be asking these questions.

Puma
01-12-2009, 05:14 AM
I have done scan disk. I have done the roll back to a prior setting once before as well. but what i don't understand is everything checked out with the PC Doctor thing. I could see and hear the hard drive running. After the Doctor was done the computer would not boot up.

Puma
01-12-2009, 05:17 AM
When I ran the PC Doctor, its heading was "Boot Fail". But everthing checked ok. But no cigar....

McLovin
01-12-2009, 05:25 AM
Microsoft is the problem. Apple is the answer

Sorry, buddy -- could not resist. Hope u get some serious answers.

Funny. I thought that your answer was the most helpful...

origmarm
01-12-2009, 05:39 AM
Ok, the HP partition on your hard drive is your HP recovery partition. On this partition there should be some utilities or an executable file to allow for PC recovery. Can you find something like that on there?

Puma
01-12-2009, 06:37 AM
Ok, the HP partition on your hard drive is your HP recovery partition. On this partition there should be some utilities or an executable file to allow for PC recovery. Can you find something like that on there?

Yes you are right. This is what it is called.

I will look for an executable file there if I can get the machine to boot up. Had no luck getting it to boot last nite.

Thanks for your help

origmarm
01-12-2009, 07:05 AM
Yes you are right. This is what it is called.

I will look for an executable file there if I can get the machine to boot up. Had no luck getting it to boot last nite.

Thanks for your help

See if you can get it to boot up and go in that way if you can, you can go to Start>All Programs>HP Tools>HP PC System Recovery or something like that from memory (haven't had HPs here for a while).

Otherwise try and tap the F11 key immediately after switching the PC on. Normally this will be F11 on HPs, typically there is a prompt while the PC is loading, from memory F2 for setup, F11 for recovery. On some of the older ones it is F10 though I think. If F11 doesn't work, try F10. This will take you to a screen to begin the recovery process on some HPs. It may take an hour or two depending on the size of the hard drive to complete. Once complete, your HP computer should be reverted to the original factory condition.

Otherwise hold F8 during your boot sequence (after the BIOS loads, just before the windows screen comes up) and you should get boot options. You may be able to boot to recovery console or something like that (some HPs have this option). If not you can probably boot into Safe Mode and launch the recovery application from there as per in Windows above.

Be aware that will all recovery tools you will lose any non backed up data so be careful/aware of this.

Most however feature a "repair" option which may be sufficient to get you back on track without losing all your data.

Otherwise you may want to take it to a specialist who will be able to extract your data prior to recovery for you. Depends if you have anything on there that you really can't afford to lose.

Backups, backups, that's the mantra.....

Deuce
01-13-2009, 01:30 AM
And if you have no success with the F2, F10, and F11 buttons, you'll have to resort to the FU button...

Puma
01-13-2009, 05:34 AM
And if you have no success with the F2, F10, and F11 buttons, you'll have to resort to the FU button...

Duece, we speak the same language..............


Orig,

Thanks for the help. I tried several times to boot it last nite. No go...

I wil try the setup thing tonite. If that doesn't work I guess I will have to take it to a shop. Last time I did this I got some memory stolen and also had a cheap power supply installed that lasted only two months. But, what can you do????

I really like my home PC. Lots of power and memory. I realize that I like it a whole lot more when it is running. Maybe all will work out ok and I can regret the names I have called it lately......

origmarm
01-13-2009, 08:21 AM
Duece, we speak the same language..............


Orig,

Thanks for the help. I tried several times to boot it last nite. No go...

I wil try the setup thing tonite. If that doesn't work I guess I will have to take it to a shop. Last time I did this I got some memory stolen and also had a cheap power supply installed that lasted only two months. But, what can you do????

I really like my home PC. Lots of power and memory. I realize that I like it a whole lot more when it is running. Maybe all will work out ok and I can regret the names I have called it lately......

Good luck mate, sorry it wasn't much help. PCs are a real pain in the a*s. If I didn't have to use one for work I would be using an Apple or a Linux machine for sure. You can run both on a Mac now but you need to have a recent one.

I believe you have services in the US called "TechGuys" or "Geek Squad" or similar where they will come to your house and fix while you wait. From reviews I have seen in magazines they send to my office they appear good. At least the national ones.