PDA

View Full Version : I need Doubles help

zebra_cam
01-12-2009, 06:14 AM
I started playing in this junior team tennis league yesterday, and i played more doubles then singles. I'm normally a sigles player, and i'm haveing trouble at the net in doubles. when do i know when i should poach, becuase some of the times when i did i would end up putting me in a dangerous situation with my partner

fuzz nation
01-12-2009, 07:11 AM
Doubles requires a skill set that's obviously different from singles and you need to develop the instincts for covering the width of the court with a partner. A lot of this comes with experience (and some patience!), but if you can get a lesson under your belt to learn good volleying habits, you ought to be a lot more "in charge" up at net. That lesson can include the poach if you're out there with the pro and one or two other players - when a ball from your opponents is in your range, you'll want to cut it off with either a putaway or a shot that will leave your opponents in trouble. Recognizing that ball that's in your range will also be an instinctive issue, but a productive lesson should set you up with some basic ideas of what to do and when to do it.

That "dangerous situation" you mentioned can usually be avoided if you and your partner set some ground rules. Communication is key for a doubles team to function properly. If one of you says "yours" or "mine", then the other knows who is taking the shot. Very useful on some balls that are right up the middle, right? Call "mine" as you're pouncing on a ball and your partner will know enough to stay out of your way.