PDA

View Full Version : Popularity in Tennis- More than its ever been globally? How about in America?

GameSampras
01-18-2009, 03:05 PM
Would you say Tennis today is more popular and a worldwide phenomenon at this point than any other time in history? How about the popularity in America? Would you say Tennis in general is the phenomenon today as it was decades prior at least from the 80s on? Certainly more foreigen countries are participating in tennis at a higher rate it seems. Not so sure about america compared to the last 2-3 decades

R_Federer
01-18-2009, 03:07 PM
America - No

Outside of America - Yes

C-XIII
01-19-2009, 02:58 PM
Outside of america I would say yes as R Federer said. In the U.S. I think it may actually be picking up more.I think the more tennis pushes away from its traditional views and yet keeps it there it will attract more people. I started playing when I was in 7th grade and I would of never gotten into it had my instructor had not been crushing serves and not having that polo niceness look that I thought most tennis players were like. Tennis I think can let all types of people play and so I think it will grow in the U.S. as more younger people start playing.

ThA_Azn_DeViL
01-19-2009, 03:00 PM
The people here in U.S. tend to think tennis is for homosexuals, and of course, gridiron football is a sport favored over everything over in U.S.

C-XIII
01-19-2009, 03:02 PM
Yeah i agree its just because of that old traditional viewing.At least thats what it seems to me.It wont ever be as popular as more contact sports are but i see more american kids playing especially if we can get another great american player again.

TennezSport
01-19-2009, 03:15 PM
The last time I checked tennis was number 12 or 14 in USA sports and number 2 or 3 in the world behind Futbol (Soccer). Tennis is growing again in the US (due to the money you can make, if you make it today) but still far behind team sports.

Cheers, TennezSport :cool:

tata
01-19-2009, 03:21 PM