PDA

View Full Version : How do you Pull Strings out of a Prestige?


Mdubb23
01-23-2009, 01:31 PM
This might sound really stupid, but I am new to the Prestige line, and just broke my first string with one--I cut all of the strings, but I can't figure out how to pull them through the CAP grommets. Any answers?

Raiha
01-23-2009, 01:38 PM
just grab one end of the string with a pair of pliers and pull it through.

ayyhwang
01-23-2009, 02:06 PM
yea you have to use the pliers to get the strings out of a prestige

Dags
01-23-2009, 02:24 PM
Imagine this is the pair of grommets at 12 o'clock with the mains running down:
_
| |
| |
| |
| |
If it is a fairly striff string, I will just hold both strings and push so the string exits outside the frame. It doesn't take much for it to pop through the cap. If it's too soft and that doesn't work, I just grab one of the strings and pull so the string exits inside the frame.

I've never had the need to use pliers.

Bud
01-23-2009, 02:37 PM
This might sound really stupid, but I am new to the Prestige line, and just broke my first string with one--I cut all of the strings, but I can't figure out how to pull them through the CAP grommets. Any answers?

Pull them from the inside. Cut the stringbed in a diagonal then grab 1 end of the cut string and pull. Sometimes, pushing them through the CAP is a PITA.

diredesire
01-23-2009, 02:42 PM
Yeah, PITA is right. I'll pull two strings out from the inside at the same time when possible. Prestiges are not a stringer's friend.