PDA

View Full Version : Gain confidence & relax?

ima sucka 4 tennis
01-23-2009, 08:20 PM
I've been playing tennis seriously for a few years. I'm on the varsity tennis team at my high school. When it comes to games or tournaments, I just can't win. If I'm rallying or playing fun games I'm doing perfectly fine, my strokes are good and I hit plenty of winners. But somehow, when I'm playing in a match or something serious, I always manage to lose. I haven't won a set in the past year. I honestly have no clue what I'm doing wrong. My coach tells me I have no confidence in myself and I need to relax and stop trying to hit hard. I've been trying to do that for the past three months yet I haven't been improving, can anyone help me with this please?

Thanks.

Jackie T. Stephens
01-23-2009, 08:22 PM
I'm not sure what the problem is.. do you first start your matches by winning then some how losing?

ima sucka 4 tennis
01-23-2009, 08:27 PM
Yeah! It's pretty much that. When the game starts I'm winning like.. 4-0, then the person somehow catches up.

Jackie T. Stephens
01-23-2009, 08:29 PM
Use to happen to me, while your playing you seem to change, try keeping your game the same and go for nothing new.

The_Steak
01-23-2009, 08:38 PM
Keep a smile on your face. Today I was playing after almost getting kicked out of class because I had a bad attitude for the last 2 weeks during classes. Kept on sighing and dropping the racquet. Today, I showed him :). Kept really really loose during practice, didn't try to do anything. Kept nice and light on my toes and moved around actively. When you make a mistake repeat the stroke with correct form. And try to enjoy the match.

DO NOT WORRY ABOUT WINNING AND LOSING.

Jackie T. Stephens
01-23-2009, 08:42 PM
That's the most important part! "Don't worry about winning or losing"

sukivan
01-23-2009, 09:54 PM
losing when you play well feels fine.
losing when you play badly feels terrible.