PDA

View Full Version : Problem with Blister

Karma_struggle
01-27-2009, 10:57 AM
First off, thanks for reading my thread. About a year ago, I switched from a semi-western forehand grip to what I think is the extreme eastern grip that Federer uses. I'm having great results with it, but I'm having a problem with a small, but painful blister at the base of my pinky finger.

I think maybe the increased wrist whip that I'm using with the new grip is causing it. In day to day playing it's not much of a problem, but whenever I have to play multiple matches in a day, like in a tourney, it becomes a real problem. I have been playing tennis often for about 8 years now, so my hands are pretty callused, and I've never had a problem with blistering before.

Anybody have any tips on either fixing my mechanics, or treating the blister itself during, say, a tournament?

dakels
01-27-2009, 11:15 AM
There's probably a lot of info you can search on this forums about blisters. Given the location, if it is easily wrappable, I'd probably use rayon surgical tape. Works great, stays on pretty well and the glide and tension shouldn't affect your swing. I also use 2nd skin too preferably before the damage is done.

Karma_struggle
01-27-2009, 11:42 AM
Interesting... should I wrap across the inside of the knuckles, or should I go in between my ring and pinky finger over to the side of the hand?

dakels
01-27-2009, 01:02 PM