PDA

View Full Version : Keeping your eye on the ball

Drewwonu
01-27-2009, 01:03 PM
I have been playing since the summer and consider myself a strong 3.0 player. One thing that i am NOT good at is consistency. I notice myself framing the ball more than i should be. I recently learned that you should watch the ball hit your racquet and keep your chin down until the ball leaves. If course i try this and it works fine for slower paced balls, but how do you watch a heavy face paced ball??? I seem to feel dizzy or find it moving too fast to watch hit my string bed. I know once i master this technique that i can move more into the technical aspect of tennis and improve my game to the next level.

mg.dc
01-27-2009, 01:34 PM
In the first place, you're normal: because it's impossible to watch the ball hit your strings.

So what's the trick?

When you hit the ball, let your gaze linger at the contact point. This prevents the lifting of your head too quickly, which is never a good thing in tennis, golf, or baseball, among other sports. Be patient, though, because this action is not intuitive and thus requires practice, to be sure.

Here's one particular way to practice keeping your gaze at the contact point through the swing. Consider a right-handed player hitting a forehand: at the moment the ball is struck, immediatly stare downward and to your right. If you do this, by the time you look up to see your shot, the stroke is entirely complete -- and your head stayed down through it all.

Federer said that whenever he strikes the ball, he just maintains his stare for a moment. If you watch him closely, notice that right when he smacks the ball (forehand) he simply looks downward and to the right. It's just for a moment.

Drewwonu
01-27-2009, 01:51 PM
In the first place, you're normal: because it's impossible to watch the ball hit your strings.

So what's the trick?