PDA

View Full Version : mixed doubles advice for newbie!

backhandbaby
01-30-2009, 12:54 PM
Hi
I am playing in a 7.0 mixed dbls usta league in So Cali. I've been playing league for 2 years but never with a man. WHAT drives a man crazy about women partners? We've won our first 2 matches in straight sets. So, what should I do as a woman to be a great partner?

BiGGieStuFF
01-30-2009, 01:00 PM
Just get the ball back in play crosscourt. As a guy who has played 7.0 mixed I know the ball is going to the woman 90% of the time. It's up to the guy to be aggressive enough to poach the shots coming back. Be aggressive up at net and don't poach on the guy's forehand. Unless you got a clean overhead let it go. more times than not your male partners groundstroke will be a better shot than a female's falling back overhead. Let them know you're letting it go.

backhandbaby
01-30-2009, 01:06 PM
That makes perfect sense. Thanks so much. I'm a lefty who plays on the deuce side (coach says I should) BUT my backhand is a much better shot. Im debating if I should play the ad side so our best shots are to the middle. any thoughts?

BiGGieStuFF
01-30-2009, 01:35 PM
In doubles most of the serves should go down the middle so if you're a lefty and your backhand is better you may very well see more shots to your backhand from the deuce side. Serving out wide gives the returner a better angle to get away from the net person. You should learn how to play both sides though in case you come up against a team where you know they have problems serving to certain sides. You can adjust to that.

backhandbaby
01-30-2009, 03:43 PM
wow awesome advice..... Im playing in an hour!

JesseT
02-03-2009, 09:52 PM
may I add...move

Nothing pleases me more than a mixed partner who can move after I've poached/crossed.

Tennisman912
02-03-2009, 11:23 PM