PDA

View Full Version : Need some 1H Backhand Tips

roihxd
02-01-2009, 05:14 PM
I've been playing for about 5 years now, and although I consider my forehand to be above average, my backhand is terrible. Terrible. When I was still in HS, my coach told me during my second year that if only I had SOME sort of backhand, I would make varsity with no problem. Although I still made var a couple of years later, my backhand still stinks like crazy. My backhand is kind of like Gonzo's backhand, except I slice a lot more than he does and they stay low only maybe half the time.

I think one of my major problems is that I keep my weight on my back foot instead of my front foot and swing up, not across. This results in often hitting the ball straight to the net or straight out. I also found that I often get jammed by the ball on my backhand side and resort to a weak slice instead of moving my feet to get into a better position.

My question for you gurus here at the TW forums is if any of you 1-handers have any tips or suggestions that might help me improve my backhand. Whether it be drills or little things to keep in mind when playing, I would certainly appreciate it.

Cheers.

Djokovicfan4life
02-01-2009, 05:19 PM
Here you go: http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=236777&highlight=keys+topspin+backhand

LeeD
02-01-2009, 05:39 PM
For me, numero uno is a stable, consistent upperbody posture before, during, and after the stroke.
Once the foundation is consistent, so will your shots, since it's easier to learn and replicate the swing than it is to learn and replicate the groundwork.
With consistent posture and footwork, you can swing for top, flat, or slice, and it all works just fine.
Without your foundation, you can have all 3 swings, but every stroke will be inconsistent.

Djokovicfan4life
02-01-2009, 05:42 PM
For me, numero uno is a stable, consistent upperbody posture before, during, and after the stroke.