PDA

View Full Version : Shortened Length Matches - league play

J-Mac
02-02-2009, 07:56 PM
Anyone have any suggestions on the format of matches to use when you only have an hour and a half to play?

I started playing in a new league but need to play my matches indoors within 1.5 hours until the weather gets better.

The TennisTour is mainly geared towards outdoor tennis from what I've seen.

cak
02-02-2009, 08:09 PM
It depends on how strict the 1.5 hours is. The vast majority of 2 set matches end in 90 minutes. At our club we have 2 hour slots, and if there is a match in the following slot we play a 10 point super tie break instead of a full third set. This weekend we had a 4-6, 7-6, 1-0 match that, including the supertiebreaker, took 2 hours 15 minutes, but the following match chose to wait for the court rather than kick us off, which they could have done.

If we are bumped for time in our league the two opponents have to choose another time before the end of the season to finish the match.

If it's really strict you can play no ad games and come in under 90 minutes.

Ronaldo
02-02-2009, 08:10 PM
Isn't there a league rule on how to determine who is ahead with 5 or 10 minutes left?

thanatos2948
02-02-2009, 08:27 PM
Play a ten point tiebreaker to determine the third set and ultimately the match. It definetely isn't as gratifying as being able to play the match out but under time constraints it works out fairly well.

GPB
02-03-2009, 05:03 AM
Playing no-ad helps, too.

PimpMyGame
02-03-2009, 05:21 AM
I've played no-ad before and although it certainly helps, it's a little brutal. Especially when coming back from 15-40 or 0-40 and you opponent gets a lucky net cord, or there is a dubious call on 2nd serve to double the game away.

Ten-point breaker would be my preferred option.

J-Mac
02-03-2009, 05:24 AM
yeah, I guess if you go with a short warmup of about 10 minutes then you can get two sets in plus a tie break if needed.

Probably need to play no-add.