PDA

View Full Version : Lighter racket = more racket head speed?

Thirteen
02-09-2009, 05:42 PM
Hi guys,

I'm currently using a PSC 6.1 95. Originally, I felt that as long as I hit with good technique, the swingweight of the racket wouldn't matter. I've been using it for about 7-8 months, and never tried anything else. However, I recently hit with an APD and found it much more manoeuverable. I'd assume that I could just hit the gym, but could it be that the PSC is just physically overwhelming me? I'm 163cm (5ft4) tall and 68kg (about 150lbs). I'm getting 2 LM Radicals to try this weekend so we'll see how it goes.

Djokovicfan4life
02-09-2009, 05:50 PM
Better technique = more racquet head speed.

Matt

datennisboy87
02-09-2009, 05:51 PM
If your referring to groundstrokes, the heavier racquet will get you more racquet head speed as long as you contact far out in front. (Straight arm). If you don't hit straight arm, then a heavy racquet is generally not a good idea.

good luck

LeeD
02-09-2009, 05:52 PM
We're the same weight, but I"m like 3 decades older....:)
Lighter rackets, especially headlight and smaller frames, DO swing faster. However, pure fast swing is only a part of the equation. "Plow thru" is sorta another consideration. How hard your opponent hits, and consistently HOW DEEP, is something to consider also.
Weight allows you to counter deep, heavy balls. If you don't play against deep heavy balls, lighter rackets work great. If you're old and feeble, light and stiff is NOT great, against heavy hitters.
LM Rads are great rackets, about 1/2 oz lighter than my Mfill200's 18x20's. They work really well.
Younger players, most trying to hit heavy topspin, would be helped by lighter weight, and possibly bigger headed rackets.
If you want to retain a big first serve (sorry, I"m like 7" taller), a heavier racket is consistent and easy on the arm and technique. Volleys, small headed, when struck clean, are much crisper.