PDA

View Full Version : Trying to decide hard or heavy?

OJ ROD
02-11-2009, 12:20 PM
First thing, if I'm asking for too much of an assesmant, ignore me, I'm just frustrated and can't seem to figure this out by myself, so I figured I'd post and maybe someone could offer advice.

Okay, when I started playing tennis, like most people, I was taught a Eastern forehand and semiwestern 2HB. I played like that for awhile. But when I stopped taking lessons, genius me decided to start messing with my strokes and trying different grips and swings without really knowing what I was doing. Later on I got with a coach who gave some much needed structure to my strokes and lent some insight about me and tennis.

Now I've definitely come a long way. All my strokes have developed nicely and I've come a long way in learning how to use them(though most of my learning I can safely say is still ahead of me). My coach told me when I started with him and was using my freakish strokes(one coach refused to acknowledge my backhand and call it a "thing"LOL:)) that I was a 1.5-2.0. When he left he said that most of the time I was a consistent 4.0. But that at my best I was a 4.5.

But my dilema comes here. I'm 5'9", about 150. Earth shattering power is not what I depend on to win matches. I am a straight up counter pucher. I try to use fitness and consistency to win matches. So using spin I understand is key. My coach had the philosophy of a heavy spun rather than hard. And that basically describes by forehand. A LOT of spin. Not over your head, just a lot. But as much as I respect him I have realized that maybe that's not the best thing for me. When I play players like 5.0 that can actually hit and aren't bothered with long rallies, they crush me because I can't take charge of the point with my forehand. A can hit flat with my backhand and that helps set up my forehand when I get a sitter on the ad side, but my forehand just doesn't have the juice behind it.