PDA

View Full Version : Should I go to a 2hbh?

Eph
02-12-2009, 03:33 PM
When I was playing, I was hitting in a 1hbh which was fine. I had a moderately good backhand. I started playing better players who hit faster, and I haven't been able to keep up. My balls go to the left because I'm so behind on the swing - I think that's a timing issue though, no? When I do hit it though, it's usually flying high above the heads. Sometimes I have an excellent cross court shot. On softer shots/volleys my 1hbh is fine, it's just on fired shots.

When I hit with the 2hbh, I have a bit more control and it looks like a slider (I was a pitcher) if I follow the ball path.

So, should I switch or is this merely a timing issue which I need to fix with coaching?

Thanks!

<3tennis!!!
02-12-2009, 03:46 PM
yes,imo i think you should go to the 2hbh. i tried a 1hbh for a while but in the end it was just way too inconsistent and the timing like you said is just not there. the 2hbh has now become my best shot by an absolute mile(only like 2 or 3 ues from that side per set usually) which imo is quite good. it is just such an easy shot to execute and quite easy to get better at.

LeeD
02-12-2009, 03:57 PM
Depends if you're strong enough, prep early enough, and big enough to always hit the one hander....
You could be 5' tall and 70lbs, for all we know, and in that case, use two hander!
Then again, what do YOU want to use? How old are you? How long can you wait for instant gratification?

Eph
02-12-2009, 04:03 PM
I'm 6'2" in the 200s and in my 20s. I don't like instant gratification - tends to mean I didn't work hard enough. I have lots of time since I can't play for 5 more months. I'm guessing it has to do with my footwork, grip, and timing.