PDA

View Full Version : mental game

k'naan
02-13-2009, 09:05 PM
Hey all,

I am a freshman playing d2. skill and fitness wise im undisputedly the 2 player, but mentally i am awful. played a challenge match against our 7 and lost in a third set tiebreak, and its killing my confidence.. help!?

NickC
02-13-2009, 09:14 PM
What exactly is your problem? Is your confidence shot? Was it not there before? Does your mind beat you up during a match? Do you have mental breakdowns or cramps during the match? Is your mind your own worst enemy? Do you not come into the match with a winning attitude? Are you not a really competitive person, and you find this hard to use when you're playing a mtach?

k'naan
02-13-2009, 09:25 PM
I dont know, I lost the first set and was down 0-4 in the 2nd, so it's not that I wasnt in it mentally.. I missed some shots I shouldn't have and I think I played the score too much, got down on myself.. Never really put my foot on the gas when I got a break.. I definately had a winning attitude, and im extremely competitive so it's not that... But the only reason Im losing is mental, I don't get it, but its driving me nuts....

tennismike33
02-13-2009, 09:30 PM
I dont know, I lost the first set and was down 0-4 in the 2nd, so it's not that I wasnt in it mentally.. I missed some shots I shouldn't have and I think I played the score too much, got down on myself.. Never really put my foot on the gas when I got a break.. I definately had a winning attitude, and im extremely competitive so it's not that... But the only reason Im losing is mental, I don't get it, but its driving me nuts....

There lies the key to unlocking your positive attitude about PLAYING, stop thinking of winning and losing. Stop thinking period, play the game. If losing is driving you nuts maybe you are taking things too serious, take a couple of days off, come back refreshed and go from there. Good luck.

saram
02-13-2009, 10:11 PM