PDA

View Full Version : Playing in the Wind

Motahari
02-14-2009, 10:52 PM
So I recently started playing on my high school tennis team. I would say I've been playing tennis seriously for about 2 years, and that I'm an alright player for the amount of time I've been playing. Anyways my team practices on courts where it always seems to be windy, and my first couple of matches were also very windy. The wind seems to really throw off my game, and I was wondering if I could get any tips for playing in the wind. Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

Geezer Guy
02-14-2009, 11:03 PM
Get to the ball quickly and set up early for the shot. Watch the ball extra close after the bounce, because it will probably move slightly from where you expect it to be when you hit it.
With the wind at your back hit with more topspin.
With the wind in your face, hit flat and hard.
You can lob into the wind, but don't lob with the wind at your back.
On big points, don't even try a first serve. Just get it in.
Practice playing in the wind every chance you get.

NoBadMojo
02-15-2009, 06:34 AM
So I recently started playing on my high school tennis team. I would say I've been playing tennis seriously for about 2 years, and that I'm an alright player for the amount of time I've been playing. Anyways my team practices on courts where it always seems to be windy, and my first couple of matches were also very windy. The wind seems to really throw off my game, and I was wondering if I could get any tips for playing in the wind. Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

Mentally prepare for not playing your best tennis in the wind and know that your opponent is most likely not going to play his/her best either

Strategywise hit with more margin for error (a little more net clearance and dont go for the sidelines)