PDA

View Full Version : Help me with string selection..

marosmith
02-26-2009, 05:57 PM
I have a Head Microgel Instinct.

I just started playing tennis last summer. I try to play 2-5 times per week.

I have a
flat serve
try to come to the net off of bog serves
find I play baseline a majority of the time
My primary shot is na heavy topspin, high, deep reverse forehand

I have a weak backhand, and cannot hit a slice

I want to know what strings would be best for me. I read that natural gut is the gold standard. I do deal with elbow pain at times (I swing like a mad-man). I want a string that allows me to continue heavy topspin, comfortable, and lasts a fair amount of time.

I know this is probably too broad, but any help would be great.

marosmith
02-26-2009, 07:40 PM
hmmmmmmmmmm

meowmix
02-26-2009, 08:01 PM
Natural gut IS the golden standard. It plays well until it breaks, and is a cure for tennis elbow (it, for the most part, reduces elbow pain).

However, given how much tennis you're playing, I don't know how long a set would last you. Considering the exorbitant cost (cheapest ng that's reliable is Klip or Tonic, and that's 25 dollars per set). Also, natural gut isn't exactly topspin oriented.

A good question would be: what are you using now, and how often do you break it?

marosmith
02-26-2009, 08:26 PM
Natural gut IS the golden standard. It plays well until it breaks, and is a cure for tennis elbow (it, for the most part, reduces elbow pain).

However, given how much tennis you're playing, I don't know how long a set would last you. Considering the exorbitant cost (cheapest ng that's reliable is Klip or Tonic, and that's 25 dollars per set). Also, natural gut isn't exactly topspin oriented.

A good question would be: what are you using now, and how often do you break it?

Using the free Wilson strings that come with the racket at TW, and I have yet to break a string.

marosmith
02-26-2009, 08:30 PM
How about this: