PDA

View Full Version : Should I go to a tweener to get to the next level. New racquet or more lessons?

LAW2
03-03-2005, 12:36 AM
Here’s my problem, no power. I am an honest 3.0-3.5 player w/a 2HBH. I have the strategy of someone better and can usually place my shots but without any power. I like to think that I am a student of the game and the physics behind it.
I play with a Chang Original Graphite Oversize that I cut down to 27.5” and added a heat sleeve to increase the grip size. I think it weighs 11.2 oz. The strings are LaserFibre Supreme 17ga @ 61#s. I use an eastern FH grip and hit w/moderate topspin.
My serves are well placed but no pop. I used to ace people when I played at a lower level, but now there are no free points. I can’t drive people off the baseline either, unless I get something like an inside out FH that I have time for. I prefer an all court game, but I am a little impatient and go to net or go for too much too soon.

Is my current racquet choice low on power?
Would I benefit from a different racquet or should I put my money on lessons instead?

The racquets I am considering are the Volkl Cat 4 (Gen II), Cat 6, Cat 7 or Fisher GDS Rally. I prefer thinner straight-beamed racquets and it seems these were the only choices that are made that way and are weighted similar to mine and were balanced HL. These racquets are said to have medium power and are appropriate for my skill level according to TW. Any racquet I chose must be spin friendly. I tried a dense string pattern once and all my shots went long. I just couldn’t put spin on the ball.

Can anyone comment on the preceding racquets?
If so, what is your game and what are the pros and cons of the frames for you?

If there is another racquet suggestion I would like to hear that as well. Thanks.

bismark
03-03-2005, 02:01 AM