PDA

View Full Version : How is serve speed measured?

Schills
03-24-2009, 08:54 PM
Specifically, where do they aim the gun? At the net, at the server, at the service box?

charliefedererer
03-24-2009, 09:27 PM
The serve speed is measured as close as possible to the server. There was a recent post, I think by SystmicAnomaly, that showed how rapidly the speed of the ball went down even before it hit the ground.

JeMar
03-24-2009, 09:34 PM
If I remember correctly, a serve loses about half its speed by the time it gets to the returner.

Schills
03-24-2009, 10:11 PM
I ask because I thought it might be fun to measure the speeds of the group of 25 guys I play with on the weekends. Seems like it would be tough to aim it in such a way as to ensure that the ball passes through the "beam". However, I have little knowledge of how these things work.

MajinX
03-24-2009, 10:48 PM
the radar gun is positioned along the net i believe, so it measures the speed of the ball as it passes the net which is why serves down the T is recorded much faster than serves out wide even if they are really the same absolute speed.

batz
03-25-2009, 03:53 AM
the radar gun is positioned along the net i believe, so it measures the speed of the ball as it passes the net which is why serves down the T is recorded much faster than serves out wide even if they are really the same absolute speed.

There must be at least 2 measurements at different points and the system must know the distance between those 2 points. The system then times how long it takes the ball to move between these 2 points. If you know how far something has travelled and you know how long it took, then you know how fast it was going as speed = distance/time.

larry10s
03-25-2009, 04:22 AM