PDA

View Full Version : Who remembers Roddick getting upset and serving...


deltox
03-26-2009, 10:04 AM
the ball INTO the clay.


http://www.break.com/index/powerful_serve.html

This is one of my favorite clips of all time and wanted to share.. i checked and didnt see it posted on the forums but it could have been in the past.. if it was.. i apologize.

gj011
03-26-2009, 10:07 AM
This is a Powerade commercial. Not real.

deltox
03-26-2009, 10:09 AM
This is a Powerade commercial. Not real.

shh you ruined it.. yes it was a powerade commercial

brucie
03-26-2009, 10:09 AM
Hahha cool clip!

Dont think its real mind you, all these guys on here will tell you so... its been posted before as you say and if i remember rightly it was just an advert!

anyway cool clip lol

ok as i said... but somehow you both replied in the time it took me to post!

gj011
03-26-2009, 10:12 AM
What is the actual rule in this case. Would this be a point for Roddick or a let?

brucie
03-26-2009, 10:14 AM
What is the actual rule in this case. Would this be a point for Roddick or a let?

Id assume its rods point bein as the ball is stationary and on the court

FlamEnemY
03-26-2009, 10:26 AM
Id assume its rods point bein as the ball is stationary and on the court

But the receiving player must wait for the ball to bounce. He isn't allowed to return the ball before it bounces off the ground.

woodrow1029
03-26-2009, 10:35 AM
What is the actual rule in this case. Would this be a point for Roddick or a let?
Even I have no idea. LOL

dextor
03-26-2009, 10:53 AM
If it were real:
THE GUY SERVED SO HARD IT ACTUALLY WENT INTO THE CLAY HE DESERVES THE POINT.

gj011
03-26-2009, 10:54 AM
Even I have no idea. LOL

LOL, I was counting on you to give accurate answer :)

deltox
03-26-2009, 11:11 AM
if the ball takes a bad hop off the lines in clay, or skids on some bad patch of grass, the same with this. if it were to happen it would be point because if it was a let then any miscut or brown patch on grass could cause the same thing.

This is my presumption of course.. i just dont see the courts being blamed much like you cannot replay points because of fan noise.

if someone served to me and it happened, id concede the point for sure =p

woodrow1029
03-26-2009, 11:12 AM
LOL, I was counting on you to give accurate answer :)
I say Roddick's point..

tudwell
03-26-2009, 11:41 AM
Code violation: ball abuse.

tahiti
03-26-2009, 12:16 PM
I've seen this on youtube before, hilarious! They should surely play the point again. But there was a big hole in the court, how do you fix that? They surely can't play on?

woodrow1029
03-26-2009, 12:17 PM
It's a clay court. Fixable. Doesn't matter, it didn't happen in a real match. Are there any physics majors or scientists that could tell us if this could even possibly really happen?

deltox
03-26-2009, 12:18 PM
first time i saw it was confused as to what to do next to. it would truely cause an unkown rule somewhere to become active i would guess.

deltox
03-26-2009, 12:20 PM
It's a clay court. Fixable. Doesn't matter, it didn't happen in a real match. Are there any physics majors or scientists that could tell us if this could even possibly really happen?

the guy on youtube that i found this thread on the first time showed it was possible but not with flat or topspin balls.. it would have to be hit at the 1st serve speed but with backspin instead of top or sidespin. and there would need to be a slight imperfection in the clay.

but im not a scientist , im just passing along what i read couple months possibly years back

Geezer Guy
03-26-2009, 04:04 PM
The ball hasn't bounced twice yet, so the point is still live. As a receiver you'd go up and try to "sand wedge" back the return.

dincuss
03-26-2009, 04:12 PM
Probably Roddicks.

I know this one guy from my club who said her played somewhere and he dug up some ground with his racquet and was fined 200$. So I guess Roddick would get fined for being so strong.

egn
03-26-2009, 04:24 PM
The ball hasn't bounced twice yet, so the point is still live. As a receiver you'd go up and try to "sand wedge" back the return.

lol true that..point is not dead

deltox
03-26-2009, 05:38 PM
after further research it would fall under the category of malfunctioned equipment and the point woul dbe replayed

as evident by the isner safin match in indian wells

Joseph L. Barrow
03-26-2009, 08:47 PM
The ball hasn't bounced twice yet, so the point is still live. As a receiver you'd go up and try to "sand wedge" back the return.
You'd only get one swing at it, though, and then it would be a double hit.:lol:

tahiti
03-27-2009, 01:11 PM
The ball hasn't bounced twice yet, so the point is still live. As a receiver you'd go up and try to "sand wedge" back the return.

Now that would have been the shot of all time! :)I didn't realise it wasn't a real match. Still rather funny that the court was so "dentable." Roddick must served like thunder with a dud ball.

Fiercer
03-27-2009, 03:24 PM
The ball hasn't bounced twice yet, so the point is still live. As a receiver you'd go up and try to "sand wedge" back the return.

Didn't bounce at all, now did it? Can't hit it until after the bounce.:P

How fun thing's would be if physics didn't work properly like in the video...

Geezer Guy
03-27-2009, 06:02 PM
Didn't bounce at all, now did it? Can't hit it until after the bounce.

Hmmm......

RCizzle65
03-28-2009, 01:35 AM
after further research it would fall under the category of malfunctioned equipment and the point woul dbe replayed

as evident by the isner safin match in indian wells

What happened in that match?

jms007
03-28-2009, 02:06 AM
What happened in that match?

They literally broke a ball.

Leublu tennis
03-28-2009, 02:51 AM
Code violation: ball abuse.Hey, thats a good one.

deltox
03-28-2009, 04:16 PM
What happened in that match?

isner hit a forehand and safin literally whiffed on the forehand return.. he grabbed the ball showing the ump it had popped and they replayed the point

RCizzle65
03-29-2009, 12:29 AM
isner hit a forehand and safin literally whiffed on the forehand return.. he grabbed the ball showing the ump it had popped and they replayed the point

Oh, that happened with Federer and Nadal too, Nadal broke a ball I think and Fed asked to replay the point and they gave it to him since they were still in the middle of a rally when it broke, the vid was on Federermagic's youtube but that's been down for awhile.....