PDA

View Full Version : Rule about Players switching sides within Doubles match


rk_sports
04-09-2009, 10:14 PM
Can the players switch sides in different sets of the same match?

Say Player A played Ad court & Player B played Deuce court when match started... now in set # 2, can they switch as...Player A play Deuce court & Player B play Ad court?

Thanks!

hammer
04-09-2009, 11:04 PM
Yes, when you start a new set, you can switch sides with your doubles partner.

rk_sports
04-09-2009, 11:32 PM
Thanks!

A friend pointed me to the rule book --

USTA Comment 15.2: May a doubles team switch its receiving
order at the beginning of any set or Match Tiebreak? Yes. There is no
requirement that any doubles team retain the same receiving order
for a new set or Match Tiebreak.

raiden031
04-10-2009, 03:47 AM
Thanks!

A friend pointed me to the rule book --

USTA Comment 15.2: May a doubles team switch its receiving
order at the beginning of any set or Match Tiebreak? Yes. There is no
requirement that any doubles team retain the same receiving order
for a new set or Match Tiebreak.

I didn't think you could switch on a 12-point set tiebreak.

Nellie
04-10-2009, 05:15 AM
I think the 12 point tie-break, at the end of the set at 6 all is considered to be part of the set (a thirtheenth game)

a super tie-break 3rd set (USTA first to 10) is a new set.

spiderman123
04-10-2009, 06:57 AM
I didn't think you could switch on a 12-point set tiebreak.

You cannot switch for a set-tiebreak.

You can switch for a match tiebreak.

raiden031
04-10-2009, 07:57 AM
You cannot switch for a set-tiebreak.

You can switch for a match tiebreak.

The USTA quote the one person posted would say otherwise.

EDIT: Never mind, they said "new set OR match tiebreak", which I took as "new set [tiebreak] OR match tiebreak"

blakesq
04-10-2009, 09:27 AM
Yes. And in the middle of a set, as soon as the a person on your side hits the ball, you can switch sides.

Can the players switch sides in different sets of the same match?

Say Player A played Ad court & Player B played Deuce court when match started... now in set # 2, can they switch as...Player A play Deuce court & Player B play Ad court?

Thanks!

larry10s
04-10-2009, 10:21 AM
^^^^^^^ very good