PDA

View Full Version : Playing with soft Gamma ball?

QuErorZ
04-29-2009, 05:24 AM
Hi;

I didn`t have chance to go play tennis on tennis court with other people everyday. I could do this just 2-3 days a week. But i didn`t want to stop training and i decided to play tennis with wall. Only the wall in my house was a garage door and that garage door had glasses on(which wasn`t appropriate to play with real tennis ball). And i saw soft Gamma Revolution balls(http://206.210.94.83/product/image/additional/which_foam_ball3.jpg) on store and i bought them.
I play 1 hour with this ball everyday. I am 19 years old. I have been playing tennis for 2 years. I want to know if this ball has benefits(or harms) for me? If so what are they?:confused:

Help me about that please. Thank you.

Cindysphinx
04-29-2009, 05:44 AM
I have some of these balls. I think they are the best things in the world for volleying. You have to create your own pace with good technique. No way can you just block such a ball when you volley.

QuErorZ
04-29-2009, 06:17 AM
Thank you but i am using these balls to improve my groundstrokes. What do you think about this?

JesseT
04-29-2009, 06:54 AM
benefits:
- saves money on buying pressurized balls
- saves your garage (cause I'd...um..."have a stern discussion" with my son if he hit regular balls against the garage)
- saves your parents' ears (again, if I heard thump-thump-thump....'stern discussion')

In short, you can practice more cause you're not waiting for a good time, worried about damage or getting more balls.

Harms?
Not many. Ummm...lack of true feedback. No real gauge of stroke depth. Won't develop watching the bounce+footwork+proper stroke.
But your wall is better than not practicing. I'd take Cindy's advice and start doing volleys against the wall....groundstroke, follow, volley.

Asking for suggestions?