PDA

View Full Version : ...without touching the net?


Racer41c
05-18-2009, 02:39 PM
So I was playing the other day, the returner hits a very sharp angle shot which catches the tape and rolls over. To get the ball, I'm in a full sprint and get to it about 2 feet from the net and was able to hit a severe angle shot winner. I'm barely able to avoid the net but had to run around the post avoid touching the net and wound up on their side of the court before the point was over.

So we stood around and looked at each other. :shock: We won the point and they didn't contest, but I'm not sure the ruling should have been. Any idea?

thehustler
05-18-2009, 02:54 PM
If this was doubles and you ran around the net post and into the doubles alley then it was their point. If it was singles and the same thing happened then it's your point. Had you run into the singles court it would've been your opponents point.

JavierLW
05-18-2009, 03:19 PM
If this was doubles and you ran around the net post and into the doubles alley then it was their point. If it was singles and the same thing happened then it's your point. Had you run into the singles court it would've been your opponents point.

That's what I thought as well.

So you have to run into the actual court "on or inside the sidelines for whatever game you're playing" to lose the point, not just merely running onto their side of the net, right?

Atown
05-21-2009, 12:32 PM
So you have to run into the actual court "on or inside the sidelines for whatever game you're playing" to lose the point, not just merely running onto their side of the net, right?

That sounds right based upon my reading of the FAC. As stated, touching the appropriate sideline should also result in loss of the point.

woodrow1029
05-21-2009, 12:33 PM
These responses are correct. As long as you don't enter the court (alley for doubles, singles sideline for singles), it's legal to cross the net.

pennc94
05-21-2009, 01:03 PM
If this was doubles and you ran around the net post and into the doubles alley then it was their point. If it was singles and the same thing happened then it's your point. Had you run into the singles court it would've been your opponents point.

What if you finished inside the appropriate court on the opposite side of the net BUT not until the ball bounced again? Wouldn't that be a point for you?

Atown
05-21-2009, 01:12 PM
What if you finished inside the appropriate court on the opposite side of the net BUT not until the ball bounced again? Wouldn't that be a point for you?

The point is over once the ball bounces twice. Thus you win the point if you don't touch your opponent's court until after the second bounce.

Racer41c
05-22-2009, 12:04 PM
Thanks All,

The only situation I could see where one could be in the court on the other side would be jumping over the net. Which I can actually remember happening watching TV when I was a kid.