PDA

View Full Version : Reflections Of A Would-Be Singles Player

Cindysphinx
06-17-2009, 05:19 AM
OK, so I slept on my stinging defeat in singles yesterday, and today I'm all ready to be philosophical. :)

For reference, I only played one singles match in 2007 (as a 3.0, where I won by just hitting conservatively until she missed), one in 2008 (as a 3.5 where I lost to a pusher on clay) and this last one in 2009. I am a total newbie on a singles court, no doubt about it.

Several things struck me about last night:

First, I was shocked at how much easier it is to hit an overhead in singles than doubles and how different it feels. In doubles, you have to beat two opponents with your overhead, and experienced doubles players will backpedal as you prepare to hit and know how to block it back to keep the point alive. In singles, players tend to stand at the center hash and then break one way or the other to have a shot. The surprising thing is that it was really easy to just wait for her to break or lean and hit the other way. It wasn't necessary to put a crater in the court, or aim for a net person's feet, or keep your eye on two people, or slice it to angle it away. I could see her quite clearly and still keep my eye on the ball and make good contact, and putting a clean overhead into the spot she just vacated was plenty good enough.

Second, I learned that Any Volley Will Do. When I first started learning singles, I would miss a lot of volleys. Just going for too much pace or going for too much angle, because you really need weight on your volleys in doubles. Not to mention the indecision that can overwhelm you as you deal with having too many options in singles. Nah, there's no need for all of that angst. Just move cleanly to the ball and send it crosscourt. If she looks like she's going to get it, just slide over and send the next one crosscourt also. Easy as pie.