PDA

View Full Version : How Hard is it to make it to a DII tennis college?

Ballinbob
06-18-2009, 09:08 AM
Hey everyone

My goal by the time i'm 18 is to make it into a DII college for tennis. I have a 3.6GPA and am currently a junior in highschool. I started playing tennis when I was 10 and I recently got rated a 4.0 from my coach (USTA certified). Anyway, would a solid 4.5 NTRP player be good enough to make into a DII tennis school if I kept my grades up?

I mean I want to be realistic, and I know that getting to the 5.0 or 5.5 level is very slim for me. However, I do think a solid 4.5 is not out of the question by the time im 18. I am almost 16 years old and have 2 more years of highschool. I know that I'm not blessed with crazy talent like some other players, but I'm a fit/athletic guy. Oh and if this helps, I am in the top 110 for juniors ranked 16- in Colorad (hopefully will break into top 100 soon)

If anyone knows any youtube videos that show DII college players playing please post them, and please any input regarding how good you have to be to make into a DII school would be appreciated. I mean I guess if I have to play DIII then that's fine, but I want to try to make into a DII school first

Thanks guys

LeeD
06-18-2009, 09:53 AM
Easy 5.0 for you...you're 6'2" and growing, play tennis 5 days a week, have the general strokes and temperament to improve, and is athletic already and trained in other sports too.
Just depends whether you need to be numero uno, or can settle for just making the team. Luck is a big part of that draw. Luck as in exactly how good you get, how good the other player's are, how much you're involved with your G/F, how your body holds up, and how much you stay interested in playing serious tennis. And whether your car holds up, or you can afford to play tennis.