PDA

View Full Version : I, Marius Hancu, am calling the bluff on Nadal's doctor

Marius_Hancu
06-23-2009, 03:21 AM
Hello, everyone,

Nadal's doctor, Dr. Cotorro, has stated Nadal is to be 100% in 3-4 weeks.

I'm calling this bluff and bluster.

If Rafael Nadal has knee tendinitis for such a long time, as he himself has recognized, it will not totally go away in a month. This is chronic (even if Nadal denies it to be such).

I strongly suggest rest until the pain is fully gone, followed by a very gradual rehabilitation process. Further, I suspect Nadal has in fact patellar tendinitis combined with regular knee tendinitis (see those bandages to keep in place the patella). That's even more dangerous, as it affects the patella, a bone, not a soft tissue. This could lead to long-term damage.

I am not a doctor, but a professional engineer, however as the visitors of the Health section here know from my many posts, have quite an experience (both personal and that of others) with tendinitis and am saying it doesn't go away this quickly.

See:

Great fitness sites
http://tt.tennis-warehouse.com/showthread.php?t=15571

You're exposing Rafael Nadal to huge risks, Dr. Cotorro, by bringing him back too soon. Let him fully and gradually heal. If that means skipping the US Open, so be it.

BTW, the time to review my and Dr. Cotorro's opinion is not now, but in say 10 years from now, looking at the health of his patient (esp his knees) at that point in time. Remember Guga and Norman (OK, that was hip, but still massive overuse).

Now, you members, you have the opportunity to have your say yourselves:-)

malakas
06-23-2009, 03:32 AM
I believe it's very serious problem both physical and mental.But Nadal and his team probably already know about this,and the doctor doesn't say the whole story in publicity.

jelle v
06-23-2009, 03:41 AM
I have the same opinion..