PDA

View Full Version : Going to the next level

in[k]
06-24-2009, 08:39 AM
Hello everyone. I am looking to go to the 'next level' with my tennis, but I don't know where to begin.

I started playing tennis last year, and I am going into my sophomore year in HS. I am going to be moved up to varsity tennis this upcoming season, and I think it is time to start thinking about getting a coach or taking advanced level lessons.

I play 6 times a week (family/friends who are on the team) and I am willing to put whatever effort is needed.

Please post any suggestions/tips that I could use to try and advance my game. Should I look for a trainer or just work on my game myself?

Long first post, I know :P Thanks for any help!

TennisCoachFLA
06-24-2009, 08:44 AM
Tell us your current game status...strengths and weaknesses and style. What sort of financial and time commitment are you able/willing to make? Body type (thin, heavier, tall, long legs, shorter appendages all play into the best training and style for you long term), your current size, parent's size so we can estimate where you may end up. Also your actual long term goals, what do you consider the next level?

With more info. some posters can give you an outline of what to do next.

in[k]
06-24-2009, 08:58 AM
Thanks for the post :)

Strengths: Volleys [best on my HS team], baseline forehand, 1hbh slice, 1 serve.

Weaknesses: Baseline 2hbh, 2 serve [too inconsistent w/ power].

Financial: Not too much money, but a decent amount. I have no idea what ballpark price a trainer would be, so I would say average (?).

Size: Tall, 140lbs, athletic (I used to do cross-country).

Parent's Size: Both parents are my current height, mom average weight dad a little overweight.

Goals: College level tennis (almost any college would be fine), a sponsorship in maybe 3-4 years. Also, I would like to be able to win a lot of the local tourneys.