PDA

View Full Version : Ridiculous at wimbledon: Lucky loser should in nadals place.


obsessedtennisfandisorder
06-25-2009, 08:07 PM
Don't get it at all....

the draw is a complete mess...where there should be nadal or a lucky loser,

there is now delpotro...very strange...

Any other tournament in the world would put a lucky loser from qualifying
in nadal's place and leave the rest of the draw...

eg sampras pullout from 1999 USopen or other tourny examples.

Now i look at the draw and novak has unbelievably easy road to semis.
( i like novak, this is no diss on him)..

Why does wimby think it can do what it likes.

Ridiculous really

angharad
06-25-2009, 08:24 PM
In the 2006 Grand Slam Rulebook:

Any vacancy created by the withdrawal of a seed prior to the release of the Order of Play for the first day of Main Draw shall be filled as follows: If the withdrawal is among seeds 1 to 16, the 17th seed is moved into then open position, and the 17th position shall be filled by the next highest ranked player eligible to be seeded

http://www.itftennis.com/shared/medialibrary/pdf/original/IO_18858_original.PDF A PDF, the above quote is found on page 23.

Wimbledon amends it a bit for the top 4 seeds, moving the 5th seed into the open position before moving the 17th seed. This rule has obviously been in place for at least a few years now, and is recognized by all 4 Slams.

CHOcobo
06-25-2009, 09:04 PM
rules are rules. life goes on.

woodrow1029
06-26-2009, 08:38 AM
In the 2006 Grand Slam Rulebook:



http://www.itftennis.com/shared/medialibrary/pdf/original/IO_18858_original.PDF A PDF, the above quote is found on page 23.

Wimbledon amends it a bit for the top 4 seeds, moving the 5th seed into the open position before moving the 17th seed. This rule has obviously been in place for at least a few years now, and is recognized by all 4 Slams.
It's not just Wimbledon. The rules changed. Here is from the 2009 Grand Slam Rulebook.

Any vacancy created by the withdrawal of a seed prior to the
release of the Order of Play for the first day of Main Draw shall
be filled as follows:
- If the withdrawal is among seeds 1 to 4, the 5th seed is
moved into then open position, the 5th position shall be filled
by the 17th seed, and the 17th position shall be filled by the
next highest ranked player eligible to be seeded.
- If the withdrawal is among seeds 5 to 16, the 17th seed is
moved into the open position and the 17th position shall be
filled by the next highest ranked player eligible to be
seeded.
- If the withdrawal is among seeds 17 to 32 it shall be filled
by the next highest ranked player eligible to be seeded.
The position vacated by that next highest ranked player shall
then be filled by the next player on the original entry list if prior
to the commencement of the Qualifying competition or by the
eligible Lucky Loser if after the commencement of the
Qualifying competition.

woodrow1029
06-26-2009, 08:41 AM
If the vacancy had occured after Monday's order of play was released, then the LL would have gone into Nadal's spot.

angharad
06-26-2009, 08:41 AM
Good to know - I wasn't able to find the most up-to-date rulebook, so I wasn't sure if it was just Wimbledon or not. Thanks. :)