PDA

View Full Version : When does a coach have to notify you about cancelling/decreasing your scholarship?

captain kirk
06-28-2009, 03:51 AM
I play at a DII school and tennis scholarship money is scarce. We already have 5 international players receiving scholarships and we're getting 2 more international kids this fall. I'm an international student too and studying in the US would be unimaginable without the scholarship, and being that I'm back home for the summer and don't communicate with my coach often, I don't want to come back to school and get dumped by the coach because he gave my money away. So, according to some kind of rules or common sense, when should a coach tell you that he will be pulling or decreasing your scholarship?

I'm not saying that he'll do it, but I'm just curious because stuff like this happens...

Thanks!

slice bh compliment
06-28-2009, 04:11 AM
You ought to email him or call him. Keep in touch with him. Most coaches and players did that, long before the age of email and facebook/twitter, etc.

He's probably reading this, Kirk.

captain kirk
06-28-2009, 06:01 AM
Even though I doubt that he's reading this and that he knows my identity, I still didn't say anything bad about him or the team, I was just asking a general question. Common human courtesy tells me that he should tell me (or anyone for that matter) a couple of months in advance so I can plan what to do if something like that ever happens

Thanks for your reply though...

slice bh compliment
06-28-2009, 06:07 AM
Yes, Kirk, common human courtesy. Absolutely, I'm with you.

Of course you did not say anything bad. However...if I were Coach, I might think it's odd that you went to an internet forum rather than coming straight to me, your Coach.

If you deserve the scholarship money, you're set. If not, and you feel insecure about it, pray that he is professional enough to communicate with you.
If you have doubts, I think you ought to be professional enough to communicate with him.