PDA

View Full Version : tennis in vancouver???

tom-selleck
03-25-2005, 07:31 AM
coming out to vancouver for a month and might move out there.

what's the tennis scene like?? i used to live there.

i know it's not like toronto where there are community clubs which are great....... are there decent number of affordable private clubs in vancouver???

also, just looking for people to play with? i know there are definitely alot of really nice public courts in vancouver but not alot of organization at that level.... are the public courts crowded at nice locations? kits/horseshoe bay/stanley park etc... i assume yes.

takeuchi
03-25-2005, 09:47 AM
Hmmm i'm relatively new to the tennis scene and i live just outside of vancouver so i'm not sure what the courts are like in vancouver. Its been fairly sunny out lately so i've noticed a lot more people on the courts. I would imagine most of those courts would be quite busy. I think there are some clubs around but not a whole lot. I'm looking at joining one soon to find some worthy opponents.

The biggest tournament around here i believe is the stanley park open in july but you probably already know that.

tennis isn't really huge out here. I believe UBC and SFU only have tennis clubs, no serious competitive tennis:(. lacrosse and hockey are probably the bigger sports around.

what level are you? maybe i could play you hahah. When you coming out? sorry i couldn't be of more help.

goober
05-01-2005, 04:51 PM
I am coming out for vacation this summer for just a week . If you guys are around may be we can hit a few. :D I will probably bring one racquet. Or if you have any suggestions of where to play....

montx
05-02-2005, 08:09 AM
I might be out in Vancouver too, mind if i join in?

matchpoints
05-11-2005, 04:11 PM
me too. is tennis really not that big there? I mean, given the weather compared to Toronto or other parts of Canada, I'm surprised.